a BLOG about NOTHING

well…maybe something

Jinxed

with 2 comments

When it comes to fixing bikes, Dug may not be a handyman.  On the other hand,  I like fixing things and luckily I haven’t had to do much to my bike.   In the last year I have pumped up the tires, occasionally lubed the chain and I’m good to go.  But reading his post made me think of all the things I could do to make my bike roll smoother.   So I tore my bike apart and the thought crossed my mind, “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!”  I ignored those thoughts and continued to take apart and clean my bike.  The bike was ready for a long ride the next day.

Feeling confident with my clean bike, I headed up Clarks Trail.  Within a few pedal strokes, one of the most aggravating things happened- the chain slipped off and my knee slammed the stem.  Just as I was about to turn into the Incredible Hulk, I tried to pedal out of it without realizing the bike broke down and I crashed into a tree.  I fixed the problem and caught up to the group.  It happened two more times within minutes of the each other and at this point I was done riding for the day.  I tucked in my tail and cut the ride short.   From now on I will carry the tools and hope that someone in the group can fix my bike.  I should have known that I would jinx myself by thinking I had mechanical prowess.

Written by Sleepy

July 23, 2009 at 10:26 pm

Posted in Cycling

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you are THE handyman. but bikes are different. let this be a lesson to you. don’t mess.

    how’s the knee?

    dug

    July 24, 2009 at 10:47 am

  2. Get yourself a gold chain like I did. Trust me.

    Rick S.

    July 25, 2009 at 2:37 pm


Leave a Reply

