a BLOG about NOTHING

well…maybe something

Switchin’ It Up

with 7 comments

I regret not signing up for Leadville this year.  The day of the deadline I sat in front of the computer debating whether or not I should do it.  It was the race fee that was holding me up.  I thought about it all winter and was 99% sure I was in.  At the time, the bank account was very low, in fact it was in the red for a while.  I probably could have put it in on a credit card, but I did not feel like I could justify the fee.

This year I have been on my bike 2-3 times a week and right now I feel like Leadville would have been a motivator for the rest of the season.  Instead I have very little motivation to get out and ride.  It’s my own fault.  Most of the rides I have been on since RAWROD have been leisure rides around Corner Canyon. I think its time to switch it up.

I used to have a road bike, but I sold it in order to get my singlespeed.  I regret selling it now because it would be a nice change-up to go from dirt to road at least one time per week.  I did not enjoy the road very much.  Every time I did a road ride, it felt more like excercise than it did a hobby.  I did have one great ride and that was with Dug.  He took me up American Fork canyon the day before I sold it and we had a screaming good time.  But it was not enough fun  to keep it, for some reason I was bored, so I was very happy to part with the bike.

Now I want a road bike.  I am going to have to come up with a business plan to propose to my wife that will convince her that purchasing one is a good decision.  Do I have a chance?  No.  Is it worth asking?  Absolutely.  Am I hoping she reads this and buys me one?  Of course.

Written by Sleepy

June 27, 2008 at 10:27 pm

Posted in Road Bike

Tagged with ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i second that motion

    dug

    June 28, 2008 at 10:40 pm

  2. Craigslist and KSL classifieds. You can get a good bike for up to about 1/2 off of retail.

    BotchedExperiment

    July 2, 2008 at 9:37 am

  3. what’s your inseam? i’ll start looking.

    dug

    July 2, 2008 at 12:11 pm

  4. So, you know that means you can’t wear baggies, right? Can’t wait to see you in those tights.

    Jay

    July 2, 2008 at 12:53 pm

  5. Dug- I’ll have jay check my inseam tonight.

    Jay- I’ll just shove my “driving sock” down my tighties.

    Sleepy

    July 2, 2008 at 2:29 pm

  6. that’s how they do pants, first they do the front, they move it over, then they do the back, and they move it back. isn’t that how they do pants?

    yes, yes it is . . . in PRISON

    dug

    July 3, 2008 at 9:35 am

  7. No sock necessary.

    Jay

    July 3, 2008 at 2:39 pm


Leave a Reply

