a BLOG about NOTHING

well…maybe something

New Strategy

with 4 comments

We usually get together as a family on Sunday nights to celebrate birthdays or just hang out. Most of us ride in the family, so biking is a common topic talked about at the dinner table. I would not be surprised if the first question was “how was the ride?” instead of “what have you been up to?” It also poses as a planning session for the week so we can coordinate schedules to ride together. We went to Dugs Sunday night and I knew it was going to come up. I have not been on my bike for a few weeks and I was hoping I could get out and suffer alone. I feel like I could use one or two rides to get back into it. That plan did not work and we are headed out tomorrow morning early.
After work, I started thinking about the ride tomorrow morning and how hard its going to be. So I started trying to come up with ways to get prepared. Somewhere in my new strategy session I convinced myself that I could make a difference within 12 hours and I would not feel any effects of a two week vacation. Here are a few things I am going to try:

Fluids- I opted for a glass of water instead of Diet Coke at dinner.

Food I passed on the late night bowl of ice cream. I eased up on dinner and did not polish the plate. Instead I tried to eat just enough before I stuffed myself.

Manscaping- I did a little manscaping on the legs to make me feel like a biker. They are silky smooth.

Sleep- My goal is to be in bed by 11p instead of 12a or later.

So those are the four things I am banking on that will help me tomorrow morning. I know that the guys I am riding with really don’t care how slow I am, but its all mental for me and I hate to slow anyone up. Will it work? I doubt it.

Written by Sleepy

June 9, 2008 at 10:32 pm

Posted in Mountain Biking

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. it’s already worked. you are a WINNER!

    dug

    June 9, 2008 at 10:46 pm

  2. good luck. i’m so jealous i want to go!

    toobendy

    June 10, 2008 at 1:45 am

  3. Any tips for how to go faster downhill? Dug and I were expecting some blood today when you took off. I don’t know how you held it together.

    Rick S.

    June 10, 2008 at 8:01 pm

  4. Rick S.- By the end of the summer I fully expect to crash. I just hope that I crash on lower Jacobs and not that jagged stuff at the top. I still get freaked out when I think about the header I took in Arizona when we visited you.

    Sleepy

    June 10, 2008 at 9:55 pm


Leave a Reply

