a BLOG about NOTHING

well…maybe something

like a kid on christmas eve

with one comment

I remember on Christmas Eve getting very little sleep because I was so excited about getting up early and celebrating Christmas. The anticipation and anxiety of Christmas used to keep me awake for hours and my parents were kind enough to put up with me crawling out of bed every ten minutes asking, “is it time to open presents yet?”

I grew out of that a few years ago. By now I thought I’d be mature enough to go to bed in any situation but I have noticed that I get really crappy sleep when there is an activity the next day. It could be at 4 pm and I would still get worked up the night before. It happened to me last night because we are riding this afternoon. I was in bed at eleven and I was staring at the ceiling for 30 minutes then found an excuse to get out of bed. I didn’t want to watch TV. So I wandered around the house trying to find something to do. I thought about cleaning the garage or doing the dishes, but I gave in and decided to watch TV. Two hours later I roll into bed completely frustrated because I know I’m going to be tired the next day. Once I am in bed I feel like I wake up every 20 minutes checking the clock to see if its time to get up. I finally string together a few hours of sleep and end up waking up 20 minutes earlier than I need to. It’s so maddening!  I don’t know what to do. I feel like a kid again except this time I am saying, “is it time to ride yet?”

Written by Sleepy

May 11, 2008 at 10:21 pm

Posted in Mountain Biking

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. we used to have “big friday” where we met up AF canyon at 6am and the rule was the ride had to end in time for everyone to be to work by noon.

    i never slept the night before. this is how ambien addictions start.

    dug

    May 12, 2008 at 9:24 am


Leave a Reply

