a BLOG about NOTHING

well…maybe something

29er down

with 7 comments

Last Saturday I was going to head out for a quick ride with a neighbor. I was getting all the gear set up and just about to load the bikes into the truck when something felt weird. I was not sure what it was, but I thought it might be the bike adjusting to the new 22t rear cog. So I rode up and down the street to see if it would work itself out. It didn’t so I started looking around and sure enough I noticed a giant crack in my frame. It was a sad day, at least for an hour before I got it to Infinite Cycles.

They immediately said that I need to stop riding so hard. I told them it was not the rough riding but more of a fat man on a little bike. Luckily Jamis warranties their frames for life. The guys at Infinite are working to get it back to me in time for White Rim this weekend. They don’t put a tip jar out, but if they had one I would put all my stripper 1s in as a thank you.

I hope I get the 29er back in time because I went out today on the old Gary Fisher Big Sur and it did not feel right. I was out of control and was out of my game. Fun bike, but I don’t think I can ever go away from the rigid suspension or the 29inch wheels.

***By the way, I tried the double tap on the helmet as a greeting, and I got a blank stare and a double take. It is going to be my bike greeting from now on.

Written by Sleepy

April 21, 2008 at 11:01 pm

Posted in Mountain Biking

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. it’s fate. it would have happened on white rim. this probably saved your life.

    dug

    April 22, 2008 at 12:17 am

  2. I love it when frames break. I’d say it means you’re doing something right, like getting out on your bike.

    If that crack were any bigger dug might have even noticed it.

    BTW, I have an extra 29er you can use on White Rim. It even has a 22t cog.

    brkeyes7

    April 22, 2008 at 7:55 am

  3. That would have been really bad if it cracked while doing white rim. I think I will be a little more paranoid about from now on.

    Thanks Brad for the offer. I should know by tomorrow if my bike will be ready. I’ll hit you up for it if it is not ready.

    Eric

    April 22, 2008 at 10:45 am

  4. um, sleepy, don’t listen to brad. he means he will let you use the broken walt. he’s not as nice as he sounds.

    dug

    April 22, 2008 at 1:38 pm

  5. ahhhh I thought we had something going. You know lend me a bike, take me to dinner, head back to his place and see where things end up.

    Eric

    April 22, 2008 at 2:25 pm

  6. Easy, boy. I like things to develop slowly.

    brkeyes7

    April 22, 2008 at 6:15 pm

  7. […] I said, I am a little jealous but my bike should do until I crack my Jamis frame again. I love that Jay is back into biking. It makes it that much easier for me to get out and […]


Leave a Reply

