a BLOG about NOTHING

well…maybe something

Top 10 Golf Courses

with 5 comments

Here are my top 10 golf courses I have played in Utah. I would write about the top 10 that I have played, but most courses outside of Utah would rank 1-10 and I would have no mention of what Utah offers. I have played some awesome courses outside of Utah, and I will name a few to prove a point. I have played Whistling Straights in Kohler, Wisconsin and a few other courses there. I played Cypress Point, Spanish Bay, and Bayonet/Blackhorse courses in Monterey, CA. If I post all those, Utah would be left out. I am an 8-10 handicap and the quality of the course is just as important as the surroundings in my opinion.

Here is my top 10 with a few reasons why I like them. Sorry St. George that I left you out, but anytime I am down there I would rather ride my bike than golf. That says a lot because there are some fantastic courses there, but my favorite bike trail is Gooseberry Mesa located 45 minutes from you.

#10 South Mountain

9 out 10 times the wind will factor in the total score. Also, every lie is a challenge.

#9 Bountiful Ridge

Greens were spectacular. Never had a straight putt.

#8 Mountain Dell

Lake Course has some great holes for some great golf shots.

#7 Wingpointe

Links style course with a stiff wind.

#6 The Homestead

I know it’s a resort, but some of the scenery is spectacular.

#5 Valley View

Tricky Greens and for right handers most fairways slope away.

#4 Hobble Creek

Great place to fine tune the irons. If you’re not in the fairway, you’re not in play.

#3 Willow Creek CC

Fast greens and lots of trees.

#2 Wasatch

Wasatch climbs up because of the location of the course. In the canyon on the mountain side.

#1 Glenwild

Park City’s finest. The fairways are plush, the greens are fast and difficult to read. There are many course outside of Utah I would like to play, but I would choose to stay in state and play as many rounds possible at Glenwild.

Written by Sleepy

April 8, 2008 at 4:24 am

Posted in Golf, Utah

Tagged with , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. golf is hard.

    dug

    April 8, 2008 at 3:26 pm

  2. Great top 10 Eric. I love wasatch and hobble and I was happy to see they made your top ten.

    Mac

    April 8, 2008 at 3:37 pm

  3. I agree with most of those, but also agree with John that Willowcreek would be my #2 instead of Wasatch. I would also put Jeremy Ranch in there somewhere, even though it is not in as good of shape as the other clubs. Glenwild definitely tops the list though. And I love HobbleCreek.

    Dan

    April 8, 2008 at 3:45 pm

  4. I had a hard time deciding between 2 and 3 because I love Willowcreek and think it is a tough course to play. The last few times I have been there, it was crowded and it took a long time to tee off. I went to Wasatch a few times last year in the fall and it was beautiful. It was fairly easy, but the scenery was top notch.

    I like Jeremy Ranch too. I guess I could have put that in the bottom half of my list somewhere. South Mountain could have been left out.

    eric

    April 9, 2008 at 1:21 am

  5. Next post – Top 10 rides…golf is silly.

    Rick S.

    April 9, 2008 at 9:40 pm


Leave a Reply

